Veterans Golf




Tamworth Veterans Golf is an affiliated Club of the NSW Veterans Golf Association. Membership is open to all male and female registered golfers over the age of 55 years.

Tamworth Veterans members have an annual membership fee of just $10.00. Out of this $10.00 affiliation fees of $3.00 goes to Central North VGA and $3.00 to the NSW VGA. When annual membership fees are paid, you receive the NSW Veterans Golf Association booklet, containing all the information of when Veterans competitions are played each week throughout the state. This is of particular interest to those Vets who wish to travel and still want the opportunity to play golf.

Tamworth Veterans play a 9 hole Stableford competition every Friday morning. Our hit off times during the winter season are from 7.00 – 9.30am, with presentation of major prize winner and an extensive ball list following within minutes of the completion of the mornings play. Tee slots are to be booked on the Club computer, or your personal computer by going to the Tamworth Golf Club web site and follow the links to the Friday morning booking portal.

A weekly newsletter is emailed to all members, detailing each weeks results and other items of interest concerning Veterans golf within our Central North Zone.

Come along and join us on a Friday morning for a friendly, relaxing 9 holes of golf, then join us in the Club for the presentations and hospitality of the Club with your fellow Veterans golfers.



PLAN PLUS  – WEALTH ADVISERS.                               


Pretty pointless making any comment about our Friday morning weather at the moment, as it is always perfect for golf. This week we had a field of 45 golfers (including 3 visitors) playing the back nine. Our visitors who were welcomed by Vice President Keith, were Kerrie Doolan, Peter Page & and our regular visitor, Don Chaffey. The winner for the morning with a score of 20pts was Laurie Boules, who won on a count back from Bob Sherwood. For his winning effort Laurie chose a Pro Shop Voucher. 3rd place, again after a series of count backs went to Stuart Johns with 19pts. The ball list went down a further 17 places, with others on 19pts being, Allan King, John Clare & Norm Bonanno. Next with 18pts were, Peter Coombes, Noel Dunford, Rod Doolan & Stephen Bright. Then, scoring 17pts came Ron Balderston, Eric Callcut, Andrew Horton, Nev Cross, Neil Dabinett & Robert Black. Finally those players with 16pts to win a golf ball were Wayne Chillingworth, Dick Sherwood, John Robinson & Ken McIlveen.                                                                                                    Nearest the Pin on the 16th hole, was won by James Murray.

It is hoped you will be available to play this coming  FRIDAY 23RD MARCH as we have received outstanding sponsorship from four members, being Greg Wilkinson, Glynn Gray, Wayne Elliott & Duncan Butler. The format for this special event will be that we have a SHOTGUN START, commencing at 8.30am. We will then be running “two events in one”. We will have our Normal INDIVIDUAL STABLEFORD EVENT  with the usual prize  for a 1st place voucher and then the Ball list going down about 23 places. So nothing changes there.  We will also be running a TWO MAN AGGREGATE STABLEFORD COMPETION, with prizes of excellent value Club or Pro Shop Vouchers for 1st and 2nd placings to each pair, plus a Ball List going down 12 places covering 24 players and a Nearest the pin. So in all 28 players will be rewarded on top of our Individual Comp. The aggregate Competition will be as per the player next to you on the Starting Sheet will be your partner. If we have a player without a partner, we will create a “swinger”. With this sort of sponsorship, we are looking to have a very large field to show support to our sponsors.

 REQUEST FOR VOLUNTEERS FOR MONDAY 9TH APRIL. We are asking for members who are not playing on the Monday 9th April to volunteer their services for an hour or two, or more to act as “spotters” in order to keep play moving particularly with the high number of visitors we are expecting. A sheet is now on the “Clip Board” on the cupboard at our Veterans Notice Board, so simply fill in the time slot and phone number as shown on the sheet and then on the day bring a ‘fold up’ chair to save your feet. For any further information you can speak to Vice President Keith or myself.

 “SUPER FRIDAY” –  Thanks to our main sponsors Plan Plus – Wealth Advisers this event will be held on  FRIDAY 28TH APRIL. Our previous “SUPER FRIDAY” have been a great success and extremely well patronised by members, so we don’t see any reason for this one to be any different. The format for the morning will be an 8.30am SHOTGUN START. When you receive your score card there will be a ticket attached to it, entitling you to a free drink (tea or coffee included) on the completion of your round. Then following the presentation, in the presence of a representative from Plan Plus, finger food will be served for the enjoyment of all members.

That’s it from me this week, we look forward to seeing a vast number of members this Friday taking part in our Individual Stableford and 2 man Aggregate Stableford Sponsored Competition and staying on for the presentations.

Regards, Peter.

 0418 245 058.